Grads prepared for future at SCCTC

The Susquehanna County Career and Technology Center graduated 111 students Thursday night at the Elk Lake High School in Dimock Twp. STAFF PHOTO/STACI WILSON


With years of hands-on training and job experience, Susquehanna County Career & Technology students are heading out into the world.

A graduation ceremony was held Thursday night on the Elk Lake School District Campus, celebrating the accomplishments of 111 students from eight different courses of study offered at SCCTC.

Some are heading straight into the job market; some are entering the military; and most of graduates plan to continue their education at technical schools and colleges, said Dr. Alice Davis, SCCTC Administrative Director.

Dr. Davis said, “Graduates, this is your night. You have worked hard to be here.”

The administrator said the graduates have all acquired the needed skills for careers that are in high demand.

“Parents,” she joked, “this means they can move out and be self-sufficient.”

But family was the common theme of the night.

Carpentry & Cabinetmaking instructor Gary Fenton served as the emcee of the event.

Fenton said the grads, “Stay in touch. It brings us great joy to see how your life is going. You will always be part of our family.”

Dominique Horrocks,Mountain View, said, “We’ve had the opportunity to learn a trade and life skills from caring, dedicated teachers. Coming here each morning was not like going to school, it was like coming home to family.”

Keeping with her work in the Carpentry and Cabinetmaking program, Horrocks drew on advice from comedian Milton Berle to share with her fellow students.

“If opportunity doesn’t knock, build a door,” she quoted.

Students from seven area school districts, as well as adult learners, took part in the graduation exercises.

School districts represented were: Montrose, Lackawanna Trail, Susquehanna,ElkLake,Mountain View,Blue Ridgeand Tunkhannock.

Montrose Area’s Jesus Avila, Carpentry & Cabinetmaking, was presented the OutstandingCTCStudent Award by Ed Johnson Jr., of S.M. Smith & Co.

The OutstandingCTCAdult Student Award went to Dawn Gagneau, Cosmetology. The award was presented by Will Hammack, of Carrizo Oil 7 Gas.

2012 SCCTC graduates include:

Automotive Technology: Matthew Coy, Michael Fisher, Jamie Mosier, Matthew Pascoe, Brandon Powers, Dillian Rivenburg, Luke Sayre, Austin Shaffer, Harold Wehler, Jacob Wells, Anthony Whitney.

Business Education: Zackary Canfield, Monica Oakes, Ford VanWert.

Cooperative Education: Carly Herman.

Carpentry & Cabinetmaking: Curtis Althouse, Jesus Avila, Parker Birtch, Kyle Heller, Dylan Hitchcock, Dominique Horrocks, Jared Kirchnew, Abigail Spear, George Zamorski.

Electrical, Plumbing & Heating: Dylan Barney, Charles Brand, Paul Cron, Dan Daly, Shawn Darrow, James Doyle, Michael Gardner, Vincent Matta Jr., Austin Sampson, Seth Schmidt, Louis Speed, Aaron Stang, Adam Stickler, Corey Towers, Korey Travis, William Weida, Caleb Wilkes.

Cosmetology: Kristin Allen, Jacklyn Applyby, Sandra Avila, Jessica Backus, Monique Baldwin, Fallon Bush, Ayla Capwell, Victoria Clouse, Emily Conroy, Ashley Craig, Stephanie Crandall, Mary Filer, Victoria Fiore, Samantha Fowler, Marisa Fuller, Alan Gage, Dawn Gagneau, Kiera Grochal, Desiree Hospodor, Justin Kerber, Victoria MacNew, Kaitlyn Mancini, Melinda Manvell, Cara McPherson, Theresa Nikula, Jordon Noldy, Nicole Norton, Melisaa Nowland, Katie Nye, Jayme Oulton, April Pellam, Lucia Sacco, Maria Sacco, Cheyenne Santoriello, Alyne Scartelli, Helen Schoonmaker, Shannen Squires, Samantha Stacknick, Grace Stephens, Amanda Tanzini, Kristy Terrell, Wendy Tinna, Mirian Tyson, Tanna Ulmer, Terry Visakay, Erin Walker.

Food Management: Elizabeth Acosta, Daniel Addice, Anna Barney, Pia Barrett, Douglas Brooks, Jeffrey Crass, Samantha Ferguson, Joseph Genito, Quiersti Hooko, Ryan Jenks, Allison Kiefer, Jason Konopka, William Palmer II, Jeremy Schwartztrauber, Melissa Sickler, Taylor Traver, Tiffany Walter.

Health Care Technology: Morgan Bender, Michele Burke, Tori Lee Carpenter, Kayla Coleman, Tiffani Colwell, Karlene Cottrell, Brittany Delancey, Sara Fair, Heather Hendrick, Tabitha Kittle, Kristy Monks, Nicole O’Dell, Jessica Prevost, Diana Root.