Johnson collects ‘Clash at the Can’ win

The 2012 edition of the ‘Clash at the Can’ presented by VP Racing Fuels, Pioneer Pole Buildings and Don’s Automotive Mall gathered 57 of the best Modified drivers to take on the 3/8 mile Penn Can Speedway.  The standing room only crown witnessed Danny Johnson bypass early leader Brian Weaver on lap 10 and outlast challenges from Jeff Strunk and Ryan Godown to collect $11,427 from the BD Motorsports Media and Penn Can Speedway promoted history making event.

Johnson of Rochester, N.Y., aboard the Mike Payne owned No.7z Bicknell finally closed the deal in a marquee event at the Can on Wednesday night.  Johnson started third behind Weaver and Billy Pauch for the 60 lap event, ‘The Doctor’ moved to second on lap six then chased Weaver down as they raced side by side on lap nine.  Johnson took the lead for good on lap 10 in turn one then outdistanced Strunk for much of the event.  Johnson was the winner in a thrilling finish over Ryan Godown and Strunk.

Ryan Godown ofRingoes,N.J., in the Rick Clay No.88C was forced to use a RoC provisional to make the feature field then made an impressive late race charge to finish a fast closing second place.  Godown didn’t crack the top ten until lap 36 but he steadily worked the outside to move up the running order.  Godown was into fifth spot on lap 48 then New Egypt regular bypassed Pauch for third on lap 52.  Godown tracked down Strunk and made an outside pass to move to second with two laps to go.  A late caution may have allowed Godown a shot at the win but he was forced to settle for a runner up finish.

Jeff Strunk started from the eighth spot and steady moved up the running order in the middle portion of the event in the Norm Hansell owned No.357.  The Bechtelsville, PA resident moved to second on a lap 26 restart and tried to challenge Johnson on several restarts however Strunk fell to third behind Godown at the finish.

Billy Pauch ofFrenchtown,N.J., and Ryan Watt of Boyertown turned in steady efforts to complete the top five.  Pauch in the Glenn Hyneman No.126 ran second in the early going but ended up fourth at the checkered flag.  Watt in his self-owned No.14W battled for much of the main with Pauch, Bobby Trapper Jr. and Larry Wight and ended up fifth.

Twenty ninth starter Joey Grammes of Kunkletown, PA made a late recovery to place sixth following him wasPhoenix,NYdriver Larry Wight in seventh place.  Matt Sheppard of Waterloo, NY started 20th and ended up eighth, Stewart Friesen on Niagara-on-the-Lake, ON placed ninth after starting 25th while Jimmy Horton of Neshanic Station, N.J., completed the top ten.

The RoC Street Stock 25 lapper was a barn burner as Lanson Albanese and Jon Carpenter raced side by side for the initial four laps before Carpenter pulled ahead.  Rich Green moved to second and closed on Carpenter as the top two raced nose to tail at the halfway mark.  Green got inside of Carpenter on lap 17 but now Earl Zimmer was a factor as the top three ran under a blanket.  Green took the lead on lap 18 before Carpenter slowed with a flat tire.  Over the final six laps Green and Zimmer swapped the lead numerous times however Zimmer lost the handle on the final lap and spun on the final lap allowing Green to pull away for the win. Albanese placed second following were Ryan Stone, Paul Harrington and Shane Wolf.

Race of Champions Dirt Modified Tour Feature Finish (60 laps): 1.Danny Johnson 2.Ryan Godown 3.Jeff Strunk 4.Billy Pauch Sr. 5.Ryan Watt 6.Joey Grammes 7.Larry Wight 8.Matt Sheppard 9.Stewart Friesen 10.Jimmy Horton 11.Bobby Varin 12.Mike Gular 13.Rick Laubach 14.Jimmy Phelps 15.Pat Ward 16.Alan Rudalavage 17.Danny Tyler 18.Brett Tonkin 19.Justin Holland 20.Mike Mahaney 21.Neal Williams 22.Doug Manmiller 23.Kevin Bates 24.Darwin Greene 25.Jimmy Davis 26.Bobby Trapper Jr. 27.Mike Colsten 28.Brian Weaver 29.Duane Howard 30.Tim Fuller 31.Kevin Albert Jr.

Did Not Qualify: Alan Johnson, Tim McCreadie, Ronnie Johnson, Billy Decker, Jerry Higbie Jr., Adam MacGeorge, Wade Hendrickson, Mike Schane, Dale Planck, Mike Nagel Jr., Alex Stanton, Dale Welty, Alex Tonkin, Ken Titus, Danny Hieber, Jim Gabriel Jr., Chris Grbac, Billy Van Pelt, Bobby Trapper Sr., Mitch Gibbs, Nick Rochinski, Brian Malcolm, Dan Pompey, Ray Bliss Jr., Shaun Walker, Tom Collins.

Contingency Award Summary

Lap Money: Danny Johnson ($578) & Brian Weaver ($170).

BeerCityBeer Per Lap: Danny Johnson (51 cans and cooler) & Brian Weaver (9 cans).

Guaranteed Starting Position – Fulton (N.Y.)SpeedwayOutlaw 200 Sept. 29: Danny Johnson.

Guaranteed Starting Position – NewEgypt(N.J.) Friends of Mike July 28: Danny Johnson.

Selinsgrove (Pa.)SpeedwayJune 19 Two FREE Pit Passes: Danny Johnson.

Harford Subway Six-Foot Sub: Danny Johnson.

Racers Preferred Models Custom Car & Starter Package ($299 value): Danny Johnson.

Racers Preferred Models Starter Package ($299 value): Jerry Higbie Jr.

Early Entry Fuel Drawing ($50 gas cards): Joey Grammes & Adam MacGeorge.

Manmiller Electric Heat Winners ($50 each): Bobby Varin, Jimmy Davis, Alan Rudalavage, Danny Johnson, Billy Pauch & Brian Weaver.

Trackside Products Halfway Fuel Bonus ($500 value of VP gas/methanol): Danny Johnson.

Flagstand Fan Hard Charger ($100 cash): Ryan Godown.

MTL Motorsports 13th-Place Bonus ($100 cash): Rick Laubach.

American Racer Tire Drawing (one tire – 11th, 12th, 14th, 15th finishers eligible): Mike Gular.

BFP Specialty $500 Body Credit: Mike Nagel Jr.

S&D Bodyline $100 Credit: Ken Titus.

Shiley Fabrications Hard Luck Award (Bumpers & Nerf Bars): Dan Pompey.

S&W Awards Custom Trophy: Danny Johnson.

Finish Line Web Design $200 Credit: Ryan Watt.

Race of Champions Street Stock Tour Feature Finish (25 laps): Rich Green, Lanson Albanese, Ryan Stone, Paul Harrington, Shane Wolf, Nick Robinson, Earl Zimmer, Jon Carpenter, Jason Butler, Mike Codington, Gene Sharpsteen, Ken Sparks Jr., John Hoover.

This article was supplied by Ryan Lepre.