Warren completes PACD presidency

The Pennsylvania Association of Conservation Districts held its annual conference in Scranton earlier this month, with Susquehanna County’s MaryAnn Warren completing her term as president. In the front row are Pa. Secretary of Agriculture George Greig, Lillian Theophonis, Laura Watts, Sylvia Beamer, and Kathy Shelly. In the back row are Warren, Donna Simpson, Commissioner Alan Hall, District Director Jim Garner, Dan Farnham.



Susquehanna County Commissioner Mary Ann Warren presided over her last meeting as President of the Pennsylvania Association of Conservation Districts recently.

Held at the Hilton in Scranton, July 9-11, the conference marked the 65th anniversary of the Pennsylvania Conservation Districts/State Conservation Commission.
The 2012 President’s Award was presented by Warren to Larry Martick, Adams County District Manager.

According to Warren, Martick was selected because he challenged her to learn all she could about the Conservation Districts.

In accepting the award, Martick thanked Warren for all her efforts while serving in the leadership role. “Your time, commitment, interest and support of all the districts have taken PACD to new heights,” he added.

Members of the Susquehanna County Conservation District board of directors, Commissioner Alan Hall and friends were on hand as Warren was presented a plaque, flowers and gifts for her service to PACD.

She also received a large poster with comments from all district managers and a gift basket with Pennsylvania products from the staff at the state office.

But Commissioner Warren had the last word as she presented a power point presentation which proved to be both informative and humorous.

During Commissioner Warren’s five and a half year tenure with the PACD board she served as first and second vice-president before taking over the presidency two and a half years ago.

During this time Commissioner Warren worked with three state agriculture secretaries, Dennis Wolff, Russell Redding and George Greig.
Also, as part of this conference, Pennsylvania State Conservation Commission, Chesapeake Bay Clean Water Farm Awards were presented to three state farmers who understand the roles they play in protecting the state’s waterways.

The 2012 recipients are Irvin and Cindy Hess of Lebanon County; Julie and Greg Perry/Sundance Life Farm of Bradford County and Michael and Vanessa Sherman/Sherman Beef Cattle of Lycoming County.

The new PACD officers are: President Drew Gilchrist (Montgomery); 1st Vice President Jack Tressler (Somerset); 2nd Vice President Glenn Seidel (Berks); Treasurer Ken Meck (Lancaster); Secretary Dave Crowl (Northumberland); NACD Director Patricia Sueck.

The conference concluded with a tour of a Marcellus Shale drilling site.