GOP resolve to support Romney

A number of women were recognized at Susquehanna County Republican Women’s picnic. Seated, from left, are Angie Conarton, Joyce Cobb, Gladys Bennett, and Donna Cosmello. Standing are Marion O’Malley, Pat Propert, Carolyn Paccio, Teri Gulick, Mary Evans, Cathy Benedict, Sue Eddleston, Rep. Sandra Major and Sen. Lisa Baker. Attending the picnic but absent from photo was Rep. Tina Pickett.



The Susquehanna County Council of Republican Women took the opportunity to recognize Republican women who serve elected position at local, county and state level at their annual picnic held on Thursday, July 19, at the Green Gables Pavilion.

SCCRW President Marion O’Malley was assisted by picnic chairman Donna Cosmello.

Those recognized for filling elected positions were: Sen. Lisa Baker and Reps. Sandra Major and Tina Pickett.

Major told the members present they are the heart and soul of Susquehanna County. “You get out there and get people registered, see about absentee ballots and do what is necessary to see registered voters get out to vote.

Sen. Baker said how well respected Major is in Harrisburg which is shown by her election and appointment to important roles in the state legislature.

Committee women honored were: Joyce Cobb, Angie Conarton, Carolyn Paccio and Pat Propert; President of New Milford Borough Council Teri Gulick; New Milford Council Donna Cosmello, State Committee Woman Dianne Burman; County officials, Treasurer Cathy Benedict, Recorder Mary Evans, Prothonotary Sue Eddleston, Jury Commissioner Gladys Bennett.

O’Malley introduced a resolution requested by the state president to show full and unwavering support for Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney. This request was passed with a resounding “yea” vote.

Also asking for full support for the Republican ticket was County Chairman John Kameen.

Tony Herzog spoke for Congressman Tom Marino, who was unable to attend. Herzog called the Republican ticket, both local and national, “great” and also asked for full support.

Among the guests from Susquehanna County were: County Commissioner Alan Hall; Sheriff Lance Benedict; State Committee Mike Redding; C-Club President Ray Smith; former County Commissioner Lee Smith. Two past presidents of the Pennsylvania Federation of Republican Women Carol Masters and Joyce Grant; attending from Bradford County were County Chairman Eric Matthews, Commissioners Doug McLincko and Daryl Miller, Recorder Shirley Rockafeller, Treasurer Buddy Crocket, Pres. Republican Women Jan Kellogg.

Wyoming County Chairman Paulett Burnside and the ever faithful Russ Gunton and wife, Pat; Lycoming County Chairman Bob Bronson; Lackawanna County was represented by State Committee member Rose Ann Gaetono.

A proud mother, Marion O’Malley introduced her daughter Sara Krupinski, who is the newest and youngest member of SCFRW. Sara recently turned 18, registered to vote and joined her mother as a member of SCFRW.