Susquehanna teachers approved for tenure



At the Sept. 19 meeting of the Susquehanna Community School Board, Jason Chamberlain was elected President pro-tempore in the absence of President Steven Stanford and Vice-president Clay Weaver.

The directors approved nine teachers for tenure as follows: Jamie Bollinger, Lisa Carpenter, Kevin Davis, Katherine Edwards, Ingrid Hower, Jami Hyndshaw, Elizabeth Matis, Daniel Maurer, Megan Piekarski.

The board also hired Joni Miller as Special Education Supervisor; Gina Gliniecki, high school math; Bridgette McKennas, elementary special education; Stacy Thatcher, elementary aide; Shannon Oropallo, personal care aide. Lawrence Tompkins was named senior class advisor and Jacob Johnson, Matthew Misiura, Elizabeth Tingley and Carolyn Homer as mentors.

To assist with the school sports program, the following were hired: Jody Stanley, Bridgette McKennas, Sarah Holmes, Paul Rooney, Aaron Calendar, Craig Hubal, Meghan Gilleran, Suzanne Baker, Danielle Keenan.

Hired for the after school homework/tutoring program were teachers Carolyn Homer and Debra Stone. Stephen Nayduch, Lindsey Nulton, Gina Glinieck, Jaclyn, Lisa Carpenter, Tom Adornato will be the ZAP/Tutoring program teachers. This will be a rotating schedule with only one teacher per ZAP session to run September 18, 2012 through March 28, 2013. The ZAP program is for 7th and 8th grade students who fail to do their homework. After so many missed homework assignments, the student is Zapped and must attend the tutoring sessions.

Added to the substitute list were: Todd Calabro, Hallstead; Ryan Gilleran, Starrucca; Shirley Travis (aide) and Mark Oakley (bus driver).

Volunteers approved were: Richard Bagnall, football; Julie Hargett-Watkins, girls basketball, softball and cross-country; Joseph Kempa, football; Alice Rhone, cross country, track; Karen Trynoski, girls junior high basketball, student council; Joshua  Becker, junior high football.