Incumbent reps win reelection





Republican incumbents fended off their Democratic challengers in Susquehanna County to gain election night district wins.

Nearly 70 percent of registered Susquehanna County voters turned out to the polls in the Nov. 6 General Election, casting 18,152 ballots.

Congressman Tom Marino (R-PA10th), State Senator Gene Yaw (R-23rd) and State House Representative Sandra Major (R-111th) all won re-election to their seats. House

Marino picked up a win for his second term over challenger Phil Scallo, 165,992 to 87,449, for the U.S. House Seat – a 30-plus percentage point win for the GOP candidate.

In Susquehanna County, Marino garnered 11,646 votes while Scallo picked up 5,853.

The 10th district covers all of Susquehanna County.

Yaw posted his victory over challenger Luana Cleveland by nearly 40 percentage points.

Overall, 23rd district voters cast 65,464 votes for Yaw to Cleveland’s 28,416.

In Susquehanna County, Yaw collected 6,893 ballots and 3,133 votes were cast for Cleveland.

The district includes parts of Susquehanna and Union counties and all of Bradford, Lycoming and Sullivan counties.

In the Susquehanna County, the 23rd State Senate District includes the townships of Apolacon, Auburn, Bridgewater, Brooklyn Choconut, Dimock, Forest Lake, Franklin, Great Bend, Jessup, Liberty, Middletown, New Milford, Rush and Silver Lake; as well as the boroughs of Friendsville, Great Bend, Hallstead, Little Meadows, Montrose and New Milford.

Rep. Sandra Major was elected to a 10th term as the state representatative for the 111th District, besting democratic challenger Jeffrey Dahlander by a 40-point margin.

Major posted 16,762 throughout the district to Dahlander’s 6,917. The 111th district includes parts of Susquehanna, Wayne and Wyoming counties.

In Susquehanna County, Major collected 9,878 votes to Dahlander’s 4,094.

House Rep. Tina Pickett (R) was unopposed for the 110th district seat, posting 18,811 votes in the district with 2,701 of those from Susquehanna County.

House Rep. Sid Kavulich,(D-114th) also ran unopposed. Forest City is the only Susquehanna County municipality included in the 114th district. He garnered 538 of the borough’s votes and 24,478 district-wide votes.

Statewide races

Republicans earned the nod from Susquehanna County voters in statewide races but did not carry the win.

For the U.S. Senate, democratic incumbent Bob Casey Jr. (2,921,798) fended off a challenge by GOP candidate Tom Smith (2,430,995) and Libertarian Rayburn Douglas (93,500).

Susquehanna County voters chose Smith over Casey, 10-514 – 7,048. Douglas posted 379 votes in the county.

In the Attorney General’s race, democrat Kathleen Kane earned 3,027,541 votes to republican David Freed’s 2,241,524 and libertarian Marakay Rogers’ 124,395.

But Freed took Susquehanna County with 9,157 votes while Kane posted 7,959; and libertarian candidate Marakay Rogers received 597.

Democrat Eugene DePasquale bested republican John Maher for the position of Auditor General in the state, 2,643,072 – 2,469,766; Libertarian Betsy Summers posted 203,406 votes.

But in Susquehanna County, Maher received 10,505 votes to DePasquale’s 5,793 and Summers’ 1,163.

State Treasurer Robert McCord held off republican challenger Diana Irey Vaughan, 2,782,891 – 2,330,049. Libertarian candidate Patricia Fryman garnered 183,123 votes.

In Susquehanna County, Vaughan (10,142) bested McCord (6,261) and Fryman (970).

Presidential race

President Barack Obama held on to take the Pennsylvania win – and its 20 electoral college votes – over Republican challenger Mitt Romney.

But Susquehanna County remained in GOP territory, with Romney garnering 10,735 votes over Obama’s 6,891.

Third party candidates, Jill Stein (Green Party) collected 105 Susquehanna County votes; and Gary Johnson (Libertarian Party) earned 199 votes.