Voters head to polls


Voters will head to the polls Tuesday and a few races are contested in Susquehanna County municipalities and school districts.

In the Choconut Twp. supervisor’s race, Republican incumbent William Dovin will face two challengers on the GOP ballot in May. Wayne Gittoes and Jan Myczewski are both seeking to unseat Mr. Dovin from the six-year position.

Liberty Twp.’s incumbent Supervisor Ted Plevinsky, a Republican, faces a challenge from Alton Wilber.
While Susan Rowe, the Oakland Twp. incumbent appointed to serve as a supervisor, faces no opposition for nomination on the Democratic primary ballot, Steven Furness Sr. and Richard Grausgruber are seeking the GOP nomination in the primary.

Ararat Twp. incumbent Tax Collector Richard Cottrell faces a primary challenge from Nicole Stone on the Republican ballot.

Incumbent Lenox Twp. tax collector Christine Henke, a Republican, faces a challenge from Dorothy Wallace.

And in the Montrose borough tax collector race, Elizabeth O’Malley is challenging longtime GOP incumbent David Colwell in the primary.

Several incumbent school directors are facing primary challenges. Jack Sible is taking on incumbent Diane Ives for the Elk Lake Region 2 seat. In the Mountain View district, incumbent Elwood Williams faces a challenge from Jason Casselbury for the Region 3B seat, and incumbent Dava Rinehart-Cowan is being challenged by Jason Richmond in the Region 3A race.

Also on the ballot, incumbents Sheriff Lance Benedict and Prothonotary Susan Eddleston are unopposed. And incumbent District Judge Suzanne Brainard is seeking re-election to the Clifford District Court She, too, faces no opposition on the ballot.

Polling places are open, 7 a.m.-8 p.m.