Susquehanna board OKs prelim budget


Susquehanna Community School District directors put a tentative budget of $13.7 million forward at their May 15 meeting.

The proposed district millage of 45.78 for Susquehanna County and 13.27 for Wayne County reflects at 2.5 percent increase in taxes and amounts to $2.50 per $1,000 of assessed value.

Directors were told this could change before the final adoption in June due to the state’s final budget and anticipated grants.

Directors Martha Stanford and Evelyn Cottrell were elected as treasurer and secretary with Board President Steven Stanford administering the oath of office. The treasurer position is for a one year term with the secretary being elected for a four year term.

On a 7-1 vote, the board approved a property tax installment resolution that would allow taxpayers to pay their taxes in three installments. The only nay vote was cast by Secretary Evelyn Cottrell who explained her objection was due to problems with the end of year reports. Carol Jackson was absent from the May meeting. Small businesses had previously been approved to pay their taxes in installments.
Peoples Neighborhood Bank will continue as the district’s depository; Attorney James Gaughan was approved as District Solicitor; Thomas P. Theobald, Government Software Services of Honesdale agreement for the printing of tax duplicates was approved.

A service agreement between the district and Lanesboro for campus safety and security was given the okay. According to Superintendent Bronson Stone, this will provide the safest school campus possible with an officer on campus for 180 school days.

The district’s All Hazard Plan met with board approval. Stone explained to the board this will guarantee that all employees will be aware of safety and security issues and how to respond and prevent a crisis.

Stone advised the board of an upcoming all campus drill on May 23. He added that he would put out the word this was a drill only and ask parents to not come to the campus.

Stone also mentioned the inclusion of Susquehanna Community High School in the list of 12 high schools in Northeastern Pennsylvania recognized in the 2013 U.S. News and World Report Best High Schools ranking. SCHS and Forest City High School were the only two Susquehanna County schools included in this ranking and each received a bronze medal.

Class night is scheduled for May 31st in the high school gym with an outdoor graduation (weather permitting) planned for June 6, Stone said.

Principal Robert Keyes advised the board in his report that Canyn Stone was selected to receive the local Elementary Principal’s Award and also received the county’s Principal Award presented during a luncheon at the Green Gables. The elementary student’s award ceremony will be held in the elementary gym on June 5, stating at 8:30 a.m.

Among the many hires at the May meeting included summer school teachers: Debra Stone, Katherine Edwards, Dori Spencers, Steve Nayduch, Jennifer Rockwell and Raymond Testa, Jamie Bollinger.

Summer school aides include Roze DeCicco, Sarah McNamara Sparks and Carla Perry.

Ellen Rockwell, Bridgette McKennas and Jessica Welch will be extended school year teachers for 2013.

Matt Misiura will fill the senior class adviser position for two years and Carly Batzel will remain as student council advisor for two more years.