Some SCCTC grads get jobs as well

Aaron O'Brien is given a business education diploma by Eric Emmerich, school board member. STAFF PHOTO/PAT FARNELLI

Aaron O’Brien is given a business education diploma by Eric Emmerich, school board member. STAFF PHOTO/PAT FARNELLI


“This is your chance to dance,” instructor Gary Fenton told this year’s crop of graduates at the Susquehanna County Career and Technology Center Thursday night.

Obligingly, several in the front row rocked a few moves.

The entire stage full of SCCTC grads looked both apprehensive and joyous by turns, as Fenton told of the class of 2013′s remarkable accomplishments, identifying a handful of standouts as well.

SCCTC Director Alice Davis said that while a notable 59 percent of these graduates will continue their education, all of the students are trained for highly sustainable jobs, which means they will not only have a career that will last, but will be able to support themselves independently.

Ed Johnson presented the 2013 SCCTC Student of the Year Award of $1,000 to Ryan Franklin, chosen by the faculty and staff for his earning gold medals at district and state SkillsUSA competitions for his cabinetmaking.

Samantha Neville was noted for completing programs in both Food Management and Protective Services.
Kevin Lynn of the Linde Corporation presented more than just a handshake to Joseph Owens who completed the welding technology program, He also had a $1,000 scholarship and a summer job for him.

Cody Franklin, president of the center’s SkillsUSA team, spoke on the valuable lessons he learned from his culinary services courses and his participation on the Skills team, where he garnered two bronze medals and a silver.

He thanked his instructors, Dave Dunster and Jill Wiedmaier, for their exceptional teaching and mentoring. Finally, he thanked the Elk Lake School District for “such a great career center to provide us with training in the skills for the careers we love.”

School board president Anne Teel said that she was particularly pleased to speak because she had attended a career center herself, “but then they were called vocational technical schools.

She said, “Back when I took computer data programming, you could not hold a computer in your hand or in your lap. One computer took up a whole room.”

Davis beamed with genuine fondness for the graduates as she concluded, “Don’t let life just happen to you. Make it be what makes you happy.”


Automotive technology: Daniel Goff, Aaron Lott, Troy A. Maby, and Nathan Speron.
Building and property maintenance: Doug Bishop, Dylan J. Haynes, Austin Ellsworth Madill, Brett Metcalf, and Tyler Perkins.

Business education: Austin Dean Conrad, Jordan Michelle Hemenway, Aaron Patrick O’Brien, and Miranda Sue Silfee.

Carpentry and cabinetmaking: Austin T. Bomboy, Ryan Franklin, Joshua Harris, Matthew Harvey, Lukas W. Jones, Justin C. Kemp, Timothy R. Marbaker, Casey B. McCauley, Jordan Smith, Derrick Smith, Jospeh Tyler, and Jordan A. Wallen.

Cosmetology: JJ Acosta, Kayla marie Adams, Misty Rose Barlow, Amber Ann Brewer, Kamara Cristina Brink, Hannah Mae Cave, Dominique Grianna Cina, Victoria Ann Clouse, Jade Marie Coleman-Hall, Ashley Ann Davidson, Raven Evans, Caitlyn Marie Fiorentino, Dawn Marie Gagneau, Megan Francis Garcia, Chelsea Ann Gelatt, Lizzie Holbrook, Sarah Elizabeth Howell, Maria C. Jampo, Kayley A. Kavetski, Arletta L. Kipar, Kristen M. Kruger, Bianca Rose Latniak, Christine A. McClain, Faith Elizabeth Rychlewski, Cassandra Jane Salsman, Xourtney Lynn Sawkulich, Taylor Ann Soules, Jessica Nicole Steingraber, Kaycee M. Swift, Victoria Ann Szostak, Tomika Arneta VanVleck, Larisa Brianne VonOhlen, Destiny Nicole Warfle, Marissa Lynn Waters, and Morgan Victoria Zrowka.

Culinary Arts: Carley Autumn Bennett, Jacquelyn Dora Clark, Kayla Marie Decker, Cody Timothy Franklin, Tracie Lee Golden, Gabrielle Gerette Malandri, Samantha Colleen Neville, Abby Rose Newhart, Krystin Irene Noel Reed, Alyssa Rebecca Sheare, Mary Christen Sorak, Emily Jane Swingle, and William Randall Zamorski.

Health care technology: Tori Ackley, Angelina Eddy, Brittany Fassett, Kalyn Filan, Devon Greenwood, Kristina Hall, Cheyann Kelder, Nicolette Alexis Pasquali, and Lindsey Shingler,
Security and Protective services: Michael Brian Murphy.

Vehicle maintenance/ repair technology: Clark William Fuller, and Donald Edward Wilmot.

Welding technology: Anthony P. Augenti, Mike A. Bullock, Mitchell D. Corse, Frank M. Delesky, Cody A. Dibble, and Joseph R. Owens.