Susquehanna alum advises grads

Susquehanna Community graduates throw hats in the air at the end of commencement Saturday. PHOTO/ HELEN FOSTER

Susquehanna Community graduates throw hats in the air at the end of commencement Saturday. PHOTO/ HELEN FOSTER


Rainy weather prevented the 2013 Susquehanna Community High School graduation from taking place on the football field but weather did not stop family and friends from swamping the high school gym Saturday.
Valedictorian and senior class president Melissa Kukowski thanked parents and teachers for their support that brought them to where they are today.

She urged the graduates to keep moving forward as they leave high school to make their way in the world.
Jeff Rood, a 2000 SCHS grad, who earned a doctorate at Notre Dame and is a professor of chemistry at Elizabethtown College was keynote speaker.

“The world does not owe you success, Rood said. “You have to be willing to put in time and energy to get somewhere in life.”

He added that “It’s easy to allow the views of others to influence the path you choose but at the end of the day, you need to be content with your own decisions.”

Rood advised the graduates to take pride in their chosen careers and do good work.

He noted that there are roughly 700 public school districts in Pennsylvania and only around 10 contain the word ‘community’ in their name.

“I think this is fitting because it is this community that has shaped you and helped you grow, watched you get to the point where you are today.”

“It is not a disadvantage to come from a rural community, It is in this community where you’ve learned to work together, have fun when the times are good and come together and help each other in times of need,” he said noting the world in general needs a bit more of the small town feel.

Brett Joseph Archambault, Danielle Marie Barnes, Nicholas Lee Beshears, Brianne Gabriella Bianco, Daniel Biegert, Douglas G. Bishop, Devin Lynn Breese, Jagr Briar, Kevin Andrew Bush, Megan Marie Canfield, Emily Elise Carmody, Derek R. Case, Dominique Cina, Brendan Conklin, Mark R. Conklin, Mitchell D. Corse, Alycia P. Cuevas, Emily Michelle Day, Kayla Decker, Maria Antonella Del Vecchio Uzcategui, Brandon Lee DeRose, Cody A. Dibble, Elizabeth Rose Fink, Kyleigh Nickole Fiske, Michael J. Frye, Lindsey Ruth Glidden, Britney Lynn Glover, Kara Ashton Gow, Coleman Aaron Hansen, Dylan James Haynes, Dessine Herzog, Tyler W. Hines, Valerie Dianne Hines, Dylan M. Krall, Kristen M. Kruger, Melissa Lea Kukowski, Sydney M. Larsen, Troy Maby, Cole Matthew Mallery, Amanda Marie Rose Marco, Chelsea Marie Matta, Brett Metcalf, Caitlynn Nicole O’Dell, Patricia Ann Pauswinski, Raymond Leonard Polak III, Brooke E. B. Sampson, Taylor Soules, Chelsea Rae Sparks, Ryan Swanson, Ashley Marie Sweeney, William Terpstra, Andrzej Tomczyk, Kayla M. Valenti , Zachary Tyler Vaughn, Casey Jean Williams, Donald E. Wilmot, and Ling Jing Yang.