EMHS tourney nets great competition

The 14th annual Endless Mountains Health System golf tournament was held on Monday, August, 26, at the Montrose Country Club.

This tournament event is held every year as a fundraiser and the event coincided with the expected opening of the new hospital near Montrose later this fall.

Winners of the first tournament held in 1999 were Sam Lewis, Dr. Thomas Pascoe, Dr. Joseph Speicher and Dr. Stuart Kaufman.

Twenty eight teams competed in this year’s tournament in four divisions. Competition is always present between the teams and this year, two teams scored 59, 13 under par, in the men’s division. On a match of cards, Dr. Ihab Dana’s team of Dr. David Flannery, Dr. Gerhard Wetzel and Curtis Hailey won first place followed by Dr. Joseph Speicher, Dr. Thomas Pascoe, Mario Costa, and Dr. Stuart Kaufman in second place.

The ladies division was captured by the team of Rebecca Warner, Judy Krupinski, Deb Loomis and Amy McKeeby with a 68.

Mixed division winners were Mary Ann DeWitt, Linda Hutnick, Robert Hutnick and Ed Shinn with a 66. In second place with a score of 67 was Loren Stone, Dr. Meade Palmer, Ann Andrews and Marty Andrews.

Afterwards, a bounteous buffet was served to the players by Chef David Joseph, Steven Pietrzykoski and staff of the Montrose Club.

Dr. Joseph Speicher, president of the medical staff, welcomed the golfers and remarked about the process by which the new hospital had become a reality. He thanked the corporate sponsors, course sponsors, employees, various funding organizations, patrons and the community at large for the on-going participation in the fruition realized by the many events.

The event raised more than $13,000 for the building and equipment needs of Endless Mountains Health Systems.

Awards and certificates were given to the many winners and everyone is looking forward to the 15th annual tournament in 2014, with special awards in recognition of the opening of the new hospital.