Warrior boys’ team, two others head to states


For the second straight year, the Elk Lake boys’ cross country team will be making the trip to Hershey after earning a second place finish in the Class A District 2 Cross Country Championships, held at its home course Wednesday.

“I’m really content and satisfied,” Elk Lake head coach Will Squier said.
“For the boys to pull out second without Eddie (Cumens) was a really good effort.”

Cumens, who finished fifth in last year’s districts and helped Elk Lake secure a district title, was unable to participate in the meet, leaving the Warriors without its top-runner for the most important race of the season.

“We knew that with Eddie, Lakeland was the team to beat, but without him, it was certainly a long shot,” Squier said. “I told the guys to race to Lakeland and if we could pull something out with them we’d have a shot at second. We weren’t able to do everything that we had planned but the kids ran well and were able to execute that and pull it off.”

However, Cumens will return to the Warriors lineup as an alternate in Saturday’s state meet.

Junior Dalton Sherman led Elk Lake in fifth overall at 17:56. Sophomore Hunter Bedell was eighth in 18:06 and a pair of freshmen, Dan Bell and Seth Owen, were 13th (18:44) and 17th (19:00), respectively.

But it would come down to the all important fifth runner to determine Elk Lake’s fate.

Running with an umbilical hernia that he suffered in last week’s meet, senior Brandon Roman raced through the pain and placed 32nd at 19:51, which put the Warriors ahead of third place finisher, Holy Cross.

“Brandon ran an awesome race last week in our first meet without Eddie, but he ended up with the hernia,” Squier said. “The doctor said that he could run without further injury but he would be running in pain, but he was able to endure it and pull out fifth for us.”

Lakeland took first place overall with 42 points, with Elk Lake taking second at 74 points. Nathan Morgan and Mark Arzie finished 1-2 overall to lead the Chiefs at 16:55 and 17:27, respectively. Holy Cross finished in third with 96 points.

Susquehanna took sixth, Mountain View eighth, Forest City ninth, and Blue Ridge tenth in the boys’ Class A race.

The Sabers were led by Brandon Soden, whi finished 10th overall at 18:26, and Justin Acone, who finished 19th at 19:07. Both will be making the trip to states.

Forest City also qualified a state runner in Tyler Debrino, who paced the Foretsers and finished 11th overall at 18:26.

Mountain View will also send a runner to states in Joe Nalley, who led the Eagles in 20th place, also at 19:07.

The PIAA Class A state championship, will take place in Hershey at the Parkview Cross Country Course on Saturday, Nov. 2.

A Boys’ Team Standings: 1-Lakeland (LK) 42; 2-Elk Lake (EL) 74; 3-Holy Cross (HC) 96; 4-Dunmore (DM) 139; 5-Lackawanna Trail (LT) 163; 6-Susquehanna Comm (SC) 176; 7-Wyoming Seminary (WS) 189; 8-Mountain View (MtV) 198; 9-Forest City (FC) 218; 10-Blue Ridge (BR) 239; 11-MMI Prep (MM) 241; 12-Mid Valley (MV) 257. Meyers and Riverside also had incomplete teams.


1-Nate Morgan (LK), 16:45; 2-Mark Arzie (LK), 17:27; 3-Jake McGovern (HC), 17:39; 4-Matt Murray (DM), 17:43; 5-Dalton Sherman (EL), 17:56; 6-Devon Clarke (LT), 17:59; 7-Adam Davis (LK), 18:01; 8-Hunter Bedell (EL), 18:06; 9-Mike Arzie (LK), 18:14; 10-Brandon Soden (SC), 18:14.
11-Tyler Debrino (FC), 18-26; 13-Dan Bell (EL), 18:44; 17-Seth Owen (EL), 19:00; 19-Justin Acone (SC), 19:07; 20-Joe Nally (MtV), 19:07; 21-Patrick Cramer (BR), 19:07; 25-David Austin (BR), 19:30; 30-Joe Higby (MtV), 19:44; 31-Mark Zappe (SC), 19:49; 32-Brandon Roman (EL), 19:51; 38-Ty Moon (EL), 20:17; 39-Robert Belcher (MtV), 20:21; 41-William Westgate (FC), 20:24; 46-Joshua Korty (FC), 20:59; 47-Neal Albright (FC), 21:03.
Also, 55-Nick Acosta (SC), 21:36; 57-Tom Ord (MtV), 21:41; 59-Jake Decker (BR), 21:53; 60 Dane Barhite (MtV), 21:53; 64-Matt Ord (MtV), 22:04; 65-Zach Moon (EL), 22:08; 68-Clayton Hansen (SC), 22:29; 69-Stephen Forsyth (BR), 22:35; 70-Nick Chamberlain (SC), 22:52; 75-Keith Maitland (MtV), 23:16; 76-William Miller (BR), 23:31; 79-Jake Davenport (BR), 25:17; 81-Luke Nevins (FC), 25:52; 84-Sean Branning (SC), 27:28; 85-Quintin Sloan (FC) 32:26.