Carey to head New Milford Council


New Milford Borough Council held its annual reorganization meeting Monday night, with new Mayor Scott Smith calling the meeting to order, swearing in the newly elected officials, and presiding for the first time over the election of officers.

“I would like to thank (former mayor) Joe Taylor for the many years he gave the community, and I hope to serve the community myself in any way I can,” Smith said.

Smith, a Democrat, previously served as a council member.

Newly elected council members sworn in at the meeting included Kathy Wages, Ken Carey, Teri Gulick, and Lawrence White.

Ken Carey was elected president, and White was chosen as vice president of the borough council.

Amy Hind was appointed secretary/treasurer.

Carey was also appointed as council’s rep to the Susquehanna County Council of Governments (COG).

Michael Briechle was reappointed as solicitor.

Peoples Security Bank & Trust was designated as the borough’s depository.
Meetings will continue to be held on the first and third Thursday of every month at 7 p.m.

Phil Hari was appointed as chairperson of the vacancy board. Jim Shaw was appointed for a five year term representing the borough on the Municipal Authority. Melissa VanZandt and Jackie Ferenczi were appointed for a four year term as a Planning Commission members.

Richard Zick was appointed as a Zoning Hearing Board alternate. Emily Marble and Karen Welch were appointed for a five year term on the recreation board.

The Susquehanna County Independent and another newspaper published in the county were designated as the newspapers of record.